top of page
Search
"I always think [...] how much that one performance touched me and shaped the course of my life."

I have been fortunate to have many musical mentors in my life, but one who made an indelible impact on me was my first flute teacher, Mary. She fostered my love of music, always viewing it as a vehicle of expression, and encouraged me to be curious, creative, and kind to myself. In grade 8, before I started lessons, I remember being so inspired when she played Ian Clarke's Hypnosis at summer band camp. That year, I asked for the sheet music for my birthday. Even though it was far beyond my capabilities at the time, I worked hard to learn it. Now, years later, whenever I get to perform that piece, I always think of her and how much that one performance touched me and shaped the course of my life. I hope to support, inspire, and encourage my future students as much as she did for me.


- Emily Richardson

bottom of page